The collaborative workshop

25-26 April 2017
University of Durham, Durham, United Kingdom

This workshop was designed to facilitate academic exchange amongst the authors contributing to the edited collection under the project. It brought together those scholars who work on the systemic nature of international law and individual actors within it, but also, on how law operates as a social practice and is both constituted by and constitutive of certain social practices. Building on recent scholarship on the notion of international public authority this workshop tried to discern how as a matter of fact, authority is claimed, legitimated and contested within the international legal space. In this respect, part of the workshop engaged with ongoing scholarship on the practices of international lawyers and the roles they discharge within the international legal system, whilst another part focused on how the legal form itself can be instrumentalised so as to confer authority on certain claims.


  • Professor Andrea Bianchi, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (Switzerland)
  • Professor Jean d’Aspremont, University of Amsterdam (the Netherlands) and University of Manchester (United Kingdom)
  • Professor Outi Korhonen, University of Turku (Finland)
  • Professor Başak Çali, Hertie School of Governance (Germany)
  • Associate Professor Frédéric Mégret, McGill University (Canada)
  • Associate Professor Usha Natarajan, American University in Cairo (Egypt)
  • Junior Professor Matthias Goldmann, Goethe University Frankfurt (Germany)
  • Associate Professor Jaye Ellis, McGill University (Canada)
  • Dr Richard Collins, University College Dublin (Ireland)
  • Dr Andrea Birdsall, University of Edinburgh (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Lorenzo Cotula, International Institute for Environment and Development (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Gregory Messenger, University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Fernando Lusa Bordin, University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Konstantine Eristavi, Caucasus University (Georgia)
  • Dr Alice Panepinto, University of Warwick (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Lianne Boer, VU Amsterdam (the Netherlands)
  • Dr Matthew Nicholson, University of Durham (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Nicolas Perrone, University of Durham (United Kingdom)
  • Dr Giedre Jokubauskaite, University of Durham (United Kingdom)
  • Associate Professor Gleider Hernandez, University of Durham (United Kingdom)